David E. Walker Environmental Sciences and Florida Collection
Pathfinders are one of many research starters available at CF Library locations. Pathfinders are created to be bibliographies and can help students begin their research with a particular topic or subject area.
Science and government pathfinders, with a focus on the environment, are listed on this page.
- Biology Pathfinder Biology is the study of living things and their vital processes, including all of the physicochemical aspects of life. Biology encompasses a broad range of fields of study. For example, marine biologists investigate life in the ocean while ornithologists study birds. Traditionally, the field is split into two areas, zoology (study of animals) and botany (study of plants). Researchers will find many authoritative materials listed below that can assist them in beginning their research and fact-finding and locate more in-depth resources. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Biomes Pathfinder A biome is a plant and animal community that covers a large geographical area that is determined by climate. Plants and animals have features and characteristics that allow them to thrive in their home biome. Important land biomes include the tundra, coniferous and deciduous forests, grasslands, savannas, deserts, chaparral, tropical rain and seasonal forests. The material listed below will help you to gather information on biomes and why they are so important to all living creatures. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Gardening Pathfinder Finding information on gardening, the practical operations in the cultivation of fruits, vegetables, flowers and ornamental plants, is easier than ever. The resources listed below are works that are not just meant to be consulted for reference, but also to be read and enjoyed by the casual reader with illustrations being an important part of these sources. The topics range from the history of gardening to specific information on plants and their cultivation to garden and landscape planning. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Geology Pathfinder Geology is the study of the earth and of the materials and processes that shape it. This interdisciplinary subject overlaps and interacts with many other disciplines including chemistry, physics, biology, oceanography, and atmospheric sciences. Government agencies and professional earth science societies are a source of many geological publications. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Government Information Pathfinder Government documents are publications issued by all levels of government, either to meet legal requirements or to provide useful information for the public. Below you will find a list of the most frequently requested federal government publications organized by topic and branch of government. In addition to the government publications below, when government reports or laws are issued, articles about them appear as secondary sources. These articles may provide summaries and explanations of the primary document and can be located by searching the library’s periodical databases. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Natural Disasters Pathfinder Natural disasters such as drought, earthquakes, hurricanes, lightning, tornadoes, tsunamis, and volcanoes occur almost everyday somewhere on Earth. Science students and researchers will find a great many resources listed below to help them understand why and how these disasters occur and how to prepare for them. Researchers will also learn about the impact that natural disasters have on the people and places in which they occur. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Space Exploration Pathfinder Space exploration began in the 1950s and it was during this time that the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) was established on October 1, 1958. Its successor was the National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, which was created in 1915. In earlier years, the space race between the United States and the Soviet Union fueled much of the advances we see today—its successes and failures. The resources below will assist researchers and students find out more about this fascinating topic. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
- Weather Pathfinder Researchers and students search for weather information for a variety of reasons including creating travel plans and writing research reports. Weather affects farming, transportation, and business in many different ways since, at any given time, the weather can change. This guide introduces researchers to some of the basic informational sources on the topic. The resources below will help researchers get started if they are looking for forecasts for the next few days or even past weather conditions. The terms and phrases listed in the subject headings below can be used to search for more materials in the library’s catalog and research databases. If you need further assistance, please ask a librarian.
Birds and Birding
Encyclopedia of Birds by Call Number: WALKER QL681 .H24 2005ISBN: 9781840137958Publication Date: 2007-02-01Features descriptions of 70+ species. The book introduces the birds of the world, explains their habitats and habits. Includes data panels and distribution maps so it can be used as a field guide reference.
Birding Florida by Call Number: WALKER QL684 .F6 R37 2007ISBN: 9780762739141Publication Date: 2007-08-01Includes an extensive bird list and sections on Florida's diverse habitats, how to plan your birdwatching trips, and species accounts providing the best locations and seasons for each bird species.
Florida's Birds by Call Number: WALKER QL684 .F6 K35 2005ISBN: 9781561643356Publication Date: 2005-11-01This guide to Florida's birds includes full-color illustrations and detailed descriptions of each species. Covers exotic and endangered species; bird conservation and study; finding, attracting, and feeding birds, bird problems, and the care of sick and injured birds.
Birds of Florida Field Guide by Call Number: WALKER QL684 .F6 T455 2001ISBN: 9781885061959Publication Date: 2001-04-01
Browse Covers
Encyclopedia of Birds
Features descriptions of 70+ species. The book introduces the birds of the world, explains their habitats and habits. Includes data panels and distribution maps so it can be used as a field guide reference.
Birding Florida
Includes an extensive bird list and sections on Florida's diverse habitats, how to plan your birdwatching trips, and species accounts providing the best locations and seasons for each bird species.
Florida's Birds
"Florida's Birds is for anyone who wants to identify the state's rich and varied bird life. More than 325 species are included. Provides information including websites and contact information for agencies and organizations that deal with birds. Florida's unique habitats are described and illustrated with color photographs. Each species notes the habitats, distinguishing marks, behavior, food, and breeding habits. A calendar grid for each bird notes what months it is in the state as well as when it is likely to be breeding here.
