Library Student Assistants

General Responsibilities

• Know all library staff plus their roles, in order to properly refer patrons to person who can help best
• Perform circulation tasks (checking items in/out)
• Provide basic assistance to patrons in a friendly, knowledgeable, + service-oriented manner
• Maintain a professional appearance and atmosphere at all library work stations
• Know locations for individual library areas / collections so patrons may be easily directed
• Learn the roles libraries have had historically and the role libraries may have in the future
• Gain an understanding of general career practices

Participation is required for special projects.

Projects as directed by the FT/PT career staff members, but not limited to:

• Photocopying informational handouts
• Item processing, cleaning, inventories, and relocating/shifting of shelved materials
• Clerical work
• Other duties as assigned

NEVER go through patron’s personal items even if you witness a possible theft.

Call Public Safety/Security and refer to FT/PT supervisors.

Library Student Assistants / Volunteers and Patron Service

(Level of Responsibility)

Remember:

A student assistant or volunteer should not be responsible for any student’s grade. This is especially true when helping them search for items. Student assistants / volunteers are not expected to guide or otherwise help patrons with library searches.

Please refer to FT/PT staff when patrons:

• Need help with in-depth research
• Have problems ID-ing what they need (not sure of topic, subjects, proper keywords, etc.)
• Have search results that are too broad/too narrow

Remember: Patrons should not be invited behind circulation desks for any reason.

1.  Collection maintenance

a. Re-shelve books to exact call number location.

b. Shelf-read assigned collection areas daily. It keeps material easily accessible to patrons.

c. Keep your shelves neat. Tidy all material left on shelves (ex. throwing away scrap paper, processing library items left in wrong shelving area, etc.)

2. Help/Circulation Desk duties including:

a. Phone etiquette, transferring calls, taking messages

b. Charging and discharging a variety of books and materials from various collections.

c. Assist patrons with the correct use of:

• Machines: computers, copier, printer, etc.
• Equipment: earphones, TVs, laptops, etc.
• Rooms: study room sign-up + equipment

3.  Support of general operations.

a. Know how to make proper referrals.

b. Perform correct opening/closing routines when scheduled at beginning/end of workday.

c. Assist in keeping the library neat and orderly at all times while on duty.

4.   Other duties as needed or assigned.

Policies & Expectations During Work Hours

• Follow the policies stated in the college’s FWS Student Handbook/Volunteer Handbook.
• Personal phones and other electronics:
  • Speak with FT library staff if expecting an emergency call/texts, etc. Phone must be no volume/on vibrate. Keep it on the desk/in a pocket (not in hand).
  • Please take calls/texts in breakroom or outside of library. Student assistants must signal other staff that they will be away for the duration of the call/text.
  • Laptops, other large electronics, and backpacks need to be stored in lockers during shifts.
  • Headsets/Earbuds: Allowed for training purposes. Otherwise, these are not to be used at the front staff desks. 
• Communication: tell/email others about any problems during a shift (ex. out of order machines, roof/window leaks, etc.)
• Scheduling and time off (student assistants only — volunteers’ schedules are more flexible):
  • After starting work, student assistants have two weeks to modify a library work schedule. If a great change happens, please speak with FT/PT staff about adjusting your schedule.
  • Arrive promptly for shift(s).
  • Contact FT/PT staff (email, phone, or in person) if time off is needed (studying/coursework, illness, emergency, etc.).
  • If a student assistant has another job with frequent schedule changes, it is the student assistant's responsibility to speak with the staff of that job to inform them – just as they were likely informed the student assitant was attending college – of other responsibilities.
• CF club/activity members:
  • Please do not schedule yourself during activity/event hours, including cleanup (generally MTWH 12-1:30pm).
  • Contact staff when events run longer than expected.

When visiting other departments, please remember:

• Refrain from “helping yourself” to food, coffee, etc. Food and drinks that are in staff areas (including fridges and countertops) are not for FWS, volunteer, and student consumption.
• If a student assistant brings food from home, please store in bldg. 3’s fridge or library locker. Label any containers with name and date they were brought in.
• Use napkins and appropriate tableware to pick up food if invited to a celebration
• Ask for napkins, tableware, etc. if needed

Please remember, when in doubt ask first.

Socializing

(Visiting Friends, Coworkers, etc.)

Student assistants are expected to help patrons. In almost any job, including the library, this can sometimes include friends.

 Typically, a student assistant and a friend may say hello, then make plans to talk during a break or after the student assistant's shift is over. This includes any student assistants that are also friends, plus communicating through social media and texting. Please do not invite friends behind the Circ desks.

In cases of extended/constant socializing, a student assistant will be given tasks away from the Circ. desks.

Future Student Assistants

If a future/potential assistant has questions, please refer them to FT/PT staff. A current student assistant may discuss any training until after new assistants begin work in the library in case of sudden policy changes, etc. This way, everyone is working with the most up-to-date information.

Shadowing

After a student assistant begins work, opportunities abound! A seasoned student assistant may help new student assistants through a task. This is known as shadowing.

Acceptable Employees and Circulation/Reference/Help Desks:

• Answers the phone politely
• Sits at the desk with attentive posture (presents a professional attitude, air, etc.)
• Develops a good grasp of:
  • circulation policies
  • patron status types and privileges
  • program’s messages about item statuses, transfers, etc.
  • proper operation of library equipment and machines
• Knows how to:
  • Electronically and Manually browse for and find items in all of the library’s collections
  • Locate material or find items on hold shelves and what each shelf represents
  • Check in / return library materials
• Leaves their workspace neat after each shift
• Empties book-bin and places all returned books in call number order for next shift

Acceptable Employees and Customer Service:

• Have read the handbook policies
• Are polite to all patrons
• Promptly assists patrons when asked for help

Acceptable Employees and Supervisors:

• Explores solutions prior to asking for assistance (Tries to problem-solve before asking for help)
• Works together with other student assistants to problem-solve
• Asks a supervisor when they need clarification about something / have a question
• Arrives on time for their shift
• Alerts a supervisor ahead of time if they are going to miss a shift
• Performs tasks in a timely manner once asked
• Asks “abusive” patrons if they would like to speak to a supervisor
• Wears appropriate clothing while at work (Tip: dress slightly better than the average patron. Example: shirt is polo or buttoned, pants are black or khaki)
• Speaks positively when directing patrons to the appropriate person who can answer the questions (“Good question! Let me get someone who can help you.”)

Acceptable Employees and Working in the Stacks:

• Scored 80-90 on shelf training
• Knows that accuracy, not speed, is key

• Can accurately shelf-read one or more sections during a shift

• Neatens their section of shelves each workday

• Shelf-reads their section once per workday

Exceptional Employees At Circulation/Reference/Help Desks

• Maintain personal professionalism (good posture, casual awareness of surroundings, ready to help)
• Greet patrons as they enter/exit (smile, "Good morning", "Have a good day", etc.)
• Can electronically search the catalog for materials and understands their availability
• Takes initiative to perform tasks at the desk without being asked
• Leaves their area neat and tidy after each shift
• Communication about projects (includes leaving notes regarding projects for next person)

Exceptional Employees and Customer Service:

• Follows all customer service guidelines at all locations (at desk, in stacks, etc.)
• Takes initiative to ask if they can help a patron
• Takes initiative to explore work-related tasks (ex. browse catalog, databases, career/major-related information)
• If there is a wait, informs patrons that they will be helped as soon as possible
• Helps co-workers when they have a question

Exceptional Employees and Working in the stacks

• Scored 100 on shelf training
• Shelves items in their correct places, in the correct collections
• Shelf-reads quickly and accurately
• Remains aware of nearby patrons that may need assistance

Unacceptable Employee and Circulation/Reference/Help Desks

• Refuses to learn and makes no effort to improve
• Ignores patrons who approach the desk
• Does not understand circulation or reserve policies
• Cannot charge or discharge materials in library program
• Does not clean up after themselves / Does not put things away
• Leaves personal items at desk or in work area on a regular basis
• Does not sign out of work computer at end of shift

Unacceptable Employee and Customer Service:

• Makes no effort to improve
• Uses profanity
• Insults patrons or coworkers
• Spends large amounts of time online, call/text/talking with friends, doing homework
• Does not correctly perform tasks in a timely manner
• Constantly arrives late / not at all (skips shifts, does not notify supervisor, etc.)
• Slouches, puts feet on desk, sleeps, or makes an effort not to be seen
• Ignores or delays the requests of supervisors
• Ignores or delays taking/giving messages
• Ignores patron’s requests for help
• Does not try to problem-solve
• Does not seek help
• Dismisses patron (tells patron “I don’t know”, “Not my job”, gives incorrect info., etc.)
• Argues with patrons or behaves in a generally rude manner to patrons and co-workers
• Does not know the availability of materials
• Cannot/Refuses to search for materials
• Continually has to be reminded of everyday tasks
• Uses headphones or earbuds at front desks
• Answers the phone in a curt manner
• Wears inappropriate clothing to work (hats, bare midriffs / feet, profane or offensive wear)

Unacceptable Employee and Working in the Stacks:

• Makes no effort to improve
• Refuses to shelve items
• Consistently scores 60 or below on shelf training
• Shelves items randomly, regardless of where they belong
• Leaves items on floor, tables, or other areas
• Does not neaten shelves at minimum or otherwise leaves the shelves a mess
• Does not use any indications of having shelved items (ex. flags, placing items so they do not stand out on shelves, etc.)