Library Student Assistants

Library  Daily  Tasks:  Summary

These tasks will be done as soon as a student assistant's shift begins, without reminders from FT/PT staff. A more detailed version is available.

Please record in the individual work calendar as part of the time management project.

For tasks outside the library, please tell a coworker for coverage purposes. Place the Help Desk sign up as needed.

• Computer sign in (timecard, library software, email) this task must be done on arriving for shift

• Library Startup Walkaround (ensure library is ready for patrons)
• Refill printer/copier paper
• Newspaper archive
• Check bookdrops
• Check-in items (books, AV, etc.)
• Courier Prep, Delivery, and Pickup (Mail Room)
• Library Tidying
• Shelving and Collection

Task 1: Timecard

• Clock in to timecard
• Update personal timecard

FWS Reminders about limits:

• work 7 hours maximum x day
• work 15 hours maximum x week
• Breaks:
  • work more than 4 hours a shift --> a 15 minute break (do not clock out)
  • work more than 5 hours a shift --> a 30 minute OR 60 minute break (must clock out)

Volunteer Reminders: See CF handbook 

Task 2: Library Walkaround

• All areas ready for use (power on computers, lights, equipment, raise curtains)
• Printer / Copier up and running, fill paper trays as needed
• Study rooms: clean messy boards, toss food, etc.
• Lost items (ex. textbooks, notebooks, jackets, etc.):  bring to Public Safety and report items as Lost and Found
• Lost items (valuables/personal info — ex. wallet, purse, etc.): do not touch. get FT/PT staff
• Maintenance: report any needs to FT or PT career staff, and contact maintenance crew (ex. carpet stains, leaks, damage, etc.)

Task 3: Newspapers

• Pick up 1 copy of daily newspaper in mailroom
• Pull ads, place on Edith’s desk

Task 4: Library Tidying

• Check # of printer paper reams. If 2 reams or less, staff contacts Maintenance + requests a box.
• Tidy tables: clean any marker/pencil/pen stains, toss used scrap paper, etc.
• Stock supply stations: paperclips, staplers, tape, scrap paper, etc.
• Hallway: Tidy “free” materials
• Remove outdated flyers (library/hall bulletin board), etc. 

Task 5: Mail run dropoff and pickup, check bookdrops

• Check library dropbox for anything outgoing, aka inter-campus deliveries
• On courier days (usually Mon. + Wed.) deliver inter-campus materials to mail room by 9am
• On non-courier days (Tues., Thurs., Fri.), deliver inter-campus materials to mail room by 4pm
• Check mailroom after 10am, 2pm for incoming items
• Check indoor + outdoor bookdrops

Check-in items (books, AV, etc.)

These are items that have been returned to the library. Items can be returned by patrons, placed in bookdrops, or through the inter-campus mail.

Before scanning an item, check for labels on front cover, paperwork, or markings from other academic/public libraries. If an item has label/marking/paperwork, then give to FT/PT  ILL staff or place item in their desk’s ILL inbox w/ note. Ex.: (Staff’s name, date, if item was checked in/not checked in with program, any e-messages that appeared, your name)

For all returned CF items, please check in. Read on-screen notes:

• Transfer to Ocala: use red bags
• Transfer to Levy: use blue bags
• Shelve in Reserves: do not put in To Be Shelved area

Shelving and Collection

It is your job to keep shelves assigned to you neat and items properly shelved. You can do this by:

• Practicing LC Easy. If LC Easy is completed with 100%, then you may advance to shelving physical items
• Check the To Be Shelved area, use program to verify if item records are clear

Reminder: use flags when shelving. All items must be properly shelved, edged, and tidied

• Shelve items on their spine (spine rests on shelf, pages pointed at ceiling)
• Check for items out of place, between shelves, left on shelves, etc.
• Straighten and edge items, except for flagged material (flagged items need to stick out a little, for easy spotting)
• Shift items if needed (ex. shelf is cramped, etc.)

Library  Friday  Additional  Tasks: Tidying

In addition to the usual daily tasks on Mondays—Friday, people who are scheduled for Fridays need to tidy the library so it is clean for the upcoming week.

 For anyone who works during May—July, these tasks move to Thursdays:

· Newspaper area:

• Recycle older papers and expired ads/coupons from archive box to silver recycle box. Place silver box next to recycling bin.
• Put papers from the week in archive box
• Keep 1 - 2 Months in archive box.

 · Sharpen regular/color pencils, etc.

 · Spray/wipe down all white boards and wall-talkers

· Even if boards look clean, please spray lightly and wipe. This prevents a residue build-up.

 · Switch out cleaning cloths in study rooms with fresh ones

 · Bring any items in outgoing mailbin to the mailroom for the next courier

Innovation Center maintenance and cleaning:

• Innovation Center Technician guides student assistants with cleaning and maintaining equipment
• Clean and tidy additional areas (game room, tables, etc.)

As needed:

• Restock study rooms with fresh dry erase markers
• Refill low/empty cleaning bottles in study rooms

• Computer sign in (clock in to your timecard, sign in to library software, open work email)

Library Startup Walkaround (ensure library is ready for patrons)

1. Lights on: turn on all light switches in library (main room, Innovation Center, study rooms, computer lab).
2. Entrance doors: raise vertical rods until they click in place. To secure, adjust clips to halfway point.
3. Computers: Power on student computers (Windows and MAC)
4. Windows: Adjust all window blinds.

Remember! Lift bottom of blinds away from window to avoid catching on handles!
Window handles should be secure and pointing down.

Library Closing Walkaround:

• At 1 hour, 30 minutes, and 5 minutes: Remind patrons that library will be closing at (time)

Computer lab and Study rooms

• Turn off equipment as needed
• Ensure teaching station door is open (for ventilation) and projector is off
• Secure/put away portable equipment.
• Tidy rooms
• Wipe down wall-talker, boards, etc. (prevents marker/dust buildup)

Main library space:

• Turn off equipment as needed
• Tidy tables, seating, etc.
• Ensure walk spaces are clear
• Lower blinds as needed
• Check printer/copier for paper. Refill as needed.
• Secure doors

Final Project (About)

Each student assistant is expected to submit a compilation of information gathered during each term. The weekly tasks are a large part of this final project.

All information needs to be in one MS Word document in APA or MLA format. Each section should begin on a new page and include the title of the information (Ex. Reflection, Goals, etc.)

The first page will be the title page and include your name, student ID#, term/year, and contact information.

Due: At the end of the last full month of work in Fall, Spring, and Summer.

Information includes:
• Reflection: a short reflection (100 - 300 words) on the library. Including any outstanding experiences. Include thoughts or plans for using what was learned to help with future education and career.

• Career: an updated resume, cover letter. Include link to employment-oriented website (ex. linkedin)
• Goals: the 3 Goals set by the library, and a short summary of progress the student assistant has made (1 - 3 sentences for each Goal)
• Scholarship Research: findings about scholarship research
• Educational Apps: findings about educational apps
• Emerging Technology: emerging technology that might be beneficial to the library
• works cited / reference page

Library Equipment Practice (Learn by Experience)

Practice navigating Windows & MS Office Suite, the iMac computer and scanner, and any additional equipment.  Please let staff know of previous experience with any of the devices the library uses.

Career Exploration

Browse information about your major, chosen career field, and your dream career. Stay updated regarding things like: industry updates, career trends, hiring requirements, job openings, etc.

Job Portfolio Growth

A student assistant will create a job portfolio on a career-based website (linkedin, monster, etc.). Once a week, update the portfolio with any new information. This may include any library work experience such as: shelving, display setup, etc.

If a student assistant does not have any new information for the job portfolio, take time to check for typos, adjust wording/phrasing as needed, etc.

Scholarship Research

Explore scholarships —  student assistants may be surprised at what is available! 

Create an individual informational list of scholarships you qualify for plus any contact information. Update as needed.

Before graduating/leaving the library position, it is recommended that student assistants do a complete update and send the research to their personal email. The list may be used in the future (do other institutions offer similar options, think about which ones can be seen as job skills, etc.).

Educational Apps

Search for apps that may benefit the library.

In MS Word, create an informational list of the app titles, links, and why the apps would be good additions, plus casual lists of search terms used to refer back to a topic or subject.

Example:

Explore Websites: Public Library, County, and eGoverment.

Learn about the various things public libraries, the county, and government offer. Some sites may be extensive, updated often, etc.

Check each site and their social media pages for updates and to stay informed about local events.

If there is an event you wish to attend, practice email etiquette by sending a request to your supervisor.
Include:
• Day/date/time of event
• Benefits of attending event (personal growth, career growth, etc.)
• If there is a conflict with your library work schedule

 www.citruslibraries.org/  

www.loc.gov/  

myflorida.gov

Florida Electronic Library 

Research new and emerging technology

In MS Word, create two informational lists or tables. One list/table will be for technology related to your major, the other will be for technology you feel would benefit the library. Include the names of technology, relevant links, and reasons why the technology is included. Include search terms used to refer back to a topic or subject.

If a student assistant has access to the shared drive and internet:

• Refer to the projects that staff have created for using and practicing library skills

If only the internet is accessible, then explore/practice using:

• the library databases
• college and university websites, especially ones you hope to transfer to
• job and career information
• skill development for academics and career
• the public library websites. See what events, displays, or other material they have available. And, explore how they market this material to patrons.

· If the shared drive and internet are not accessible, then begin a tech-free project.

  Tech-free Projects (if light enough) :

• Tidying: Shelving and Shelf-reading, edging, tidying the shelves and library, etc.
• Brainstorm about future library displays:
  • Using standard paper, write down ideas. When computer access is restored, type them into a document. Continue work on them for 1 week, then email to the supervisor.
• Find a book about a subject/genre you always wanted to read about
• Brainstorm about your personal future:
  • Practice skills such as goal-setting, to do lists, visualizing where to be in the next 5 years, etc.