Start Your Search
eBooks Available in the Library
The Art of Art History: A Critical Anthology
This anthology is a guide to understanding art history through critical reading of the field's most innovative and influential texts, focusing on the past two centuries. Each section focuses on a key issue: art as history; aesthetics; form, content, and style; anthropology; meaning and interpretation; authorship and identity; and the phenomenon of globalization.
Early Italian Painting
Oscillating between the majesty of the Greco-Byzantine tradition and the modernity predicted by Giotto, Early Italian Painting addresses the first important aesthetic movement that would lead to the Renaissance, the Italian Primitives.
Historical Dictionary of Renaissance Art
Covering the years 1250 to 1648, this book provides a complete portrait of this period through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and over 500 hundred cross-referenced dictionary entries on major Renaissance artists, architects, and patrons, as well as relevant historical figures and events, the foremost artistic centers, schools and periods, major themes and subjects, noteworthy commissions, technical processes, theoretical material, literary and philosophic sources for art, and art historical terminology.
Renaissance Theory
Renaissance Theory presents a conversation among art historians about the optimal ways of conceptualizing Renaissance art, and the links between Renaissance art and contemporary art and theory. This is the first discussion of its kind, involving not only questions within Renaissance scholarship, but issues of concern to art historians and critics in all fields.
Searching for Art's New Publics
Drawing on contributions from practicing artists, writers, curators, and academics, this book explores the ways in which artists seek to involve, create and engage with new and diverse audiences.
Art Without Borders
This book explores the human hunger for art and inquiry into its significance. Examining the mutual influence of European and non-European artists, it demonstrates how all of these individual traditions are gradually, but haltingly, conjoining into a single current of universal art.
Playing with Color: 50 Graphic Experiments for Exploring Color Design Principles
This hands-on book contains a series of experimental design projects with an emphasis on color, providing a “toolkit” of ideas and skills, which lead to an awareness and sensitivity to form, color, material and craft.
A Field Guide to Digital Color
This guide to digital color presents a survey of digital color with special emphasis on those fields important for computer graphics. The book provides the foundation for understanding color and its applications, discusses color media and color management and the use of color in computer graphics, including color design and selection.
Art in World History 2 Vols
Covers the history of art from early civilizations through the late 20th century
Art of the 20th Century
This astoundingly thorough survey of art's modern era showcases all of the key artistic movements of the 20th century, from Fauvism to Pop Art, featuring illustrative examples of some of the most renowned works of the era along with illuminating companion essays by expert critics and art historians.
Art Without Borders: a Philosophical Exploration of Art and Humanity
This book draws on neuroscience and psychology to understand the way we both perceive and conceive of art, including its resistance to verbal exposition. Includes examples of work by Indian, Chinese, European, African, and Australian artists,
Playing with Color: 50 Graphic Experiments for Exploring Color Design Principles
A highly accessible, fun approach to learning color application and principles.