Visual Arts at CF
- Webber Gallery Located at the Ocala Campus, the Webber Center Gallery provides a nucleus of arts and cultural programs for students, faculty and the community.
- Appleton Museum of Art Free entry to the museum for all CF students.The museum’s permanent collections of approximately 18,000 objects include European, American, Asian, African, Contemporary and pre-Columbian art and artifacts, and a series of temporary traveling exhibitions are presented throughout the year. The museum is also building a collection of works of Florida artists which relates directly to the history and cultural heritage of the Central Florida community.
Search for Articles using the Library Catalog and Databases
Take a Quick Look at the New Library Catalog
Search Databases A-Z and filter 'All Subjects' to locate and access subject-specific databases.
Best Databases for Art and Art History
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window Streaming video database that covers a wide range of subjects. Over 1,800 full titles on art and architecture. From art techniques to art styles and biographies of artists, also find videos on art criticism, theory and research in art history.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window JSTOR is a digital library that includes more than 2,000 academic journals, thousands of books, primary sources and other materials relevant to research in the arts, humanities and more.
- PBS Video This link opens in a new window This collection of more than 1,600 streaming videos provides an exceptional range of content with the most valuable video documentaries and series from PBS. From Science to history, art to Shakespeare, diversity, to business & economics, and more.
Recommended Databases for Art and Art History
- Academic One File This link opens in a new window Academic One File provides peer-reviewed, full-text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Includes coverage of the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and, other subjects.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with thousands of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals.
- Biography (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window Contains biographies of a variety of historically significant figures to present-day newsmakers. A great starting point for discovering artists. Contains references and is continuously updated.
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new window Over 500 English-language periodicals covering literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, history, religion and theology. Many articles in full text.
News Sources for Current Topics in Art and Art History
- New York Times - Current This link opens in a new window Provides national and international news, opinion and commentary, and includes local and state news, science, sports, arts and entertainment, and business and finance news.
- New York Times - Historical This link opens in a new window Full-text and full-image articles for The New York Times, covering 1851-2007.