Start with the author’s last name then a space, then the author’s first (and second, if available) initials (no space between first and second initials) and end with a period.
Andreadis A. 1998. To seek out new life: the biology of Star Trek. New York: Crown Publishers. 273 p.
If more than one author, list in order with a comma separating each name.
Margulis L, Dolan M. 2002. Early life: Evolution on the Precambrian Earth. Sudbury (MA): Jones & Bart-lett. 168 p.
If no author is listed, but an editor is, use the editor(s) names with the word editor or editors following.
Gillman AG, Rall TW, Nies AS, Taylor P, editors.
If a corporate author is listed and abbreviation is known, start with the abbreviation, followed by the corporate name.
[BLS] Bureau of Labor Statistics. 2007 Dec. 18. Biological scientists. Occupational outlook handbook, 2008-09 edition.
<http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos047.htm>. Accessed 2009 Nov 19.
Next is the date of publication in year month (abbreviate the first three letters of the month and end with a period) order and then the date if available and end with a period. Next is the title of the book. Only capitalize the first word of the title, no quotes or italics and end with a period. Place of publication follows (if an unknown city, then the state postal abbreviation follows in parentheses): Then publisher. And finally the number of pages of the book ends with a p and a period.
Andreadis A. 1998. To seek out new life: the biology of Star Trek. New York: Crown Publishers. 273 p.
Forbes N. 2004. Imitation of life: how biology is inspiring computing. Cambridge (MA): MIT Pr. 171 p.
When citing a chapter or essay from an anthology or collection, start with the author of the essay or chap-ter, and then the year of publication. Then the title of the essay or chapter is followed by the editor’s or compiler’s name. The title of the anthology or collection is next. The place of publication, publisher and the pages of the essay or chapter only finish the citation.
Carter C. 1999. Forward. In Simon A. The real science behind the X Files: microbes, meteorites and mu-tants. New York: Simon and Schuster. 11-15.
Kasting JF, Brown LL. 1998. The early atmosphere as a source of biogenic compounds. In Brack A, editor. The molecular origins of life: Assembling pieces of the puzzle. Cambridge: Cambridge Univ Pr. 35-56.
Raval CN. 2008. Clinical trials within U.S.: heart disease. In Svendsen CN, Ebert AD, editors. Encyclope-dia of stem cell research. Vol. 1. Los Angeles: SAGE. 121-126.
Full text database article citations: The citation for an electronic source (or full text database articles) includes the citation for any print version of the source, followed by information about the database. Author. Year month day. Article title. Abbreviated journal title volume#(issue#): pages. Database name. <URL>. Accessed date.
Coker JS. 2009 May. Reinventing life: introductory biology for a rapidly evolving world, science educa-tion programs. The Am Biology Teacher 71(5): 281-284. Science Resource Center. <http://www.linccweb.org>. Accessed 2009 Nov 19.
Hart LA, Wood, MW, Hart, BL. 2008. Why dissection? Animal use in education. Westport, CT: Green-wood Pr. p 225. LINCCWeb. <http://www.linccweb.org>. Accessed 2009 Nov 19.
Hrabchak C, Ringuette M, Woodhouse K. 2008 Dec. Recombinant mouse SPARC promotes parietal endo-derm differentiation and cardiomyogenesis in embryoid bodies. Biochem and Cell Biology 86 (6): 487-499. Biological & Agricultural Index Plus. <http://www.linccweb.org>. Accessed 2009 Nov 4.
O’Driscoll C. 2009 Sep 14. Ready to divide and conquer. Chem & Indus 17: 24-6. Applied Science and Technology Full Text. <http://www.linccweb.org>. Accessed 2009 Nov 4.
When citing an internet source, cite the page where you found the information, not the web site's home page. List in this order: author’s last name first (and second) initial. Date of last update (in year month day order). Title of webpage. Title of website. The webpage’s URL in angle brackets <URL>. Accessed and the date YOU accessed the webpage (in year month day order).
[BLS] Bureau of Labor Statistics. 2007 Dec 18. Biological scientists. Occupational outlook handbook, 2008-09 edition. <http://www.bls.gov/oco/ocos047.htm>. Accessed 2009 Nov 19.
Montague PR. 2008 Jul. 22. Freewill. Current Biology 18 (14): R584-R585. <http://www.cell.com/current-biology/Quick>. Accessed 2009 Dec. 9.
October technical tip: Critical points for mTeSR®1 or TeSR™2 feeder-independent culture. 2009 Nov 4. StemCell Technologies. <http://www.stemcell.com/communication/news_releases.aspx?id=613>. Accessed 2009 Nov 4.
Plant biology: Plant cells vs. animal cells. 2005 Aug. 16. Biology online. <http://www.biology-online.org/11/1_plant_cells_vs_animal_cells.htm>. Accessed 2010 Jan. 25.
[UA] The University of Arizona. 2004 Jul. The biology project. <http://www.biology.arizona.edu/>. Accessed 2010 Jan. 25.