CF Library: Early Childhood Education: Databases

Library Databases

Databases

Databases are a collection of online resources purchased to help students conduct research. Resources include academic journal articles, eBooks, streaming videos, newspaper articles, magazine articles, and literary criticism. Databases are searchable alphabetically, by subject, by type, or by vendor name. Databases can be accessed from any location with an internet (wifi) connection.

How to Access Databases

Log in to the MyCF portal → CF ID number and MyCF password
Select "Academics" tab
Locate “Library Resources and Services – SSO” in the right-hand column
Click on the blue “Library Resources and Services” button
You will be taken to the library’s catalog and discovery service
Select Databases A-Z
Search for database alphabetically, subject, type or vendor name.

For login assistance:

Call 352-854-2322 x. 1345.
Email library@cf.edu.

Education Databases

Early Childhood Education Databases: Short List

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database with thousands of full-text periodicals, including peer-reviewed journals.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Designed to meet the needs of education students and professionals this collection includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and citations for over 4 million articles including book reviews and spans all levels of education from early childhood to higher education.
Educators Reference Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection of more than 1,000 periodicals and 200 reports is almost entirely full-text.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) is a guide to published and unpublished sources on thousands of educational topics. ERIC includes full-text documents, the ERIC thesaurus, a complete list of descriptive terms used by ERIC to index and search the database. ERIC includes more than one million records from 1966 to present and is updated monthly.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This bibliographic database contains journal information for K-12 teachers and librarians, providing coverage on topics such as Assessment, Best Practices, Continuing Education, Current Pedogogical Research, Curriculum Development, Elementary Education, Higher Education, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, School Administration, Science & Mathematics, and Teacher Education.

Other Databases

Additional Databases

PrepStep This link opens in a new window
PrepStep is an online learning platform of tutorials, practice tests, articles, e-books and test preparation for self-guided skill building, career preparation and workforce readiness.
CQ Researcher Plus Archive This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher provides coverage of the issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.