FAQs for Passwords and other Technical Glitches: What Do I Do If I Can't Access a Database?

Q: After I have logged into Library Search, used a database, and then tried another one, I get another page with the database’s logo asking for another username and password.  How do I connect to the database?

A: This may be caused by a number of factors: you may have been timed out by the database OR your browser or browser settings may be incompatible with the database, your cookies may not be set to allow the database page to know that you have already logged in, or something may be blocking the “referring URL” that lets the database page know that you are accessing it from the Library Search page.

Here are some things to try to correct these problems:

Use Internet Explorer, version 6 or higher, or the most recent version of Firefox.

Some databases may work with the most recent versions of other browsers.  Library database connections are not compatible with AOL or WebTV browsers.

In Google toolbar:
http://www.google.com/support/toolbar/bin/answer.py?hl=en-uk&answer=9171

If you are using other pop-up blocking software, please consult your documentation. Temporarily set security and privacy settings in the browser to the medium levels or lower.

You can temporarily lower settings or disable any personal firewall or security software while using the database.

EBSCO databases, such as Academic Search Complete, are especially sensitive to security software that may obscure referring URLs. If you can access other databases, but not an EBSCO database, please refer to EBSCO’s connection FAQ: http://support.epnet.com/CustSupport/Customer/Details.aspx?faq=1535

You may get a screen that looks like the one below.  To get to a database from here: please select your college from the drop down menu.  Your Borrower ID is your CF student ID and the PIN is the last four digits of your Social Security Number.  If you are an international student, your PIN is the last four digits of your CF student ID.  Then click Log In.